Wolfhound Irish Whiskey Review

dsc_2373-2

Wolfhound Irish Whiskey, “The Gentle Giant” is a standard Irish Whiskey.  I would call this a budget pour, but there is nothing wrong with that.  It is clean and pleasant.

I normally provide a link to the maker’s site, but in all honesty reading this review gives you more information than the maker’s site does.  So I will not waste your time with a link.  You are welcome.

ABV: 40%dsc_2406-2

AGE: No age statement on bottle.

SERVED: Neat / Glencairn Glass

COLOR:  Light Gold

NOSE: Floral notes with a touch of honey and a sliver of oak hiding under them.

PALATE: Caramel and butterscotch lead the way with a slight buttery consistency.  Then there is a bit of fruitiness but I am not quite sure how to place it, and a bit of ginger and a touch of pepper.  Then at the end I get a very a small amount of oak and then vanilla.

FINISH:  Medium finish, but stronger than the ABV would indicate.  This was a pleasant surprise.  Vanilla and a pinch of oak and malt fade away leaving only the pleasant heat which lingers wonderfully.

OVERVIEW: From the nose I was not very impressed, but then the palate changed my mind.  This is a very smooth, and warm pour.  Its sweetness is inviting, and although it is not a complex pour, it is enjoyable.  It may not be my favorite in this price range, and I personally would probably pay a bit more and step up to other choices, I have no problem with this whiskey.  So you may want to give it a chance, then pour me some and we will enjoy it together.  It is a simple whiskey, for times when simple is what you are in the mood for.

PRICE: $15-$20

ADDED:  This grows on you the more you drink it.

Leave a Reply

