Pig’s Nose Blended Scotch Whisky Review

dsc_2240-2a

Pig’s Nose Blended Scotch Whisky is billed as being as soft and smooth as a pig’s nose.  This theme is displayed on its retro and simple label design.  It is fun and whimsical and might cause some shoppers to pass it by as not being classy enough for consideration.  But this type of presentation is also seen with its maker’s other Scotch, Sheep Dip.  It is, what actually attracted my attention.  It was not like the other bottles sharing its shelf at the store.  And then there was its claim, so I put that to the test.

You can read more about this whisky on its maker’s site: spencerfieldspirit.com.

ABV: 40%dsc_9059-2

AGE: 5-7 years

SERVED: Neat / Glencairn Glass

COLOR: Light Gold with a touch of copper.

NOSE: Butterscotch and over-ripe orchard fruits lead the way, with warm muffins and a touch of grass coming in soon after.  In the background I detect a pinch of spice and a sliver of oak.

PALATE: Super smooth, and a touch buttery.  The sweet butterscotch is very nice, and yet not as sweet as the nose might promise.  Then mushy over-ripe apples comes along, banana, and followed with spice and pepper.  Following that, there is a strong bitter note, grassy, and oak tannin.  There is even some muffins floating around in all that.

FINISH:  Mild warmth that lingers nicely.  Your mouth is left with a slightly sweet, and bitter aftertaste.  The oak creates a mild dryness at the back of the tongue (on the sides).

OVERVIEW: This Scotch Whisky lives up to its claim for being super smooth.  I would classify this as a dessert whisky.  For me it is an interesting side step from my usual whiskies, but not what I would consider keeping stocked.  I am not a fan of bitter or grassy whisky.  If the bitterness was not so prominent for me, I would truly love this pour; but they are there, so I can’t.  I can see how others may really enjoy this pour though.  And if the profile I provided meets the things you like in a whisky, at its price it should make your “pick some up” list.

PRICE: $25-$30

Leave a Reply

